Eight Area Schools Recieve “Reward Schools”

Six Rutherford County schools and two Murfreesboro City schools were named "Reward Schools" by the Tennessee Department of Education, which means they scored in the top 5% in either achievement or the top 5% in growth in student gains. The announcement was made on Monday.

Three of the county schools — David Youree Elementary School, Thurman Francis Arts Academy and McFadden School of Excellence — earned the honor for both categories. John Colemon Elementary School earned the designation for growth in student gains, while Homer Pittard Campus School and Lascassas Elementary School each earned it for performance. The city schools named "Reward Schools" are Bradley Academy and The Discovery School at Reeves-Rogers.

Only 169 schools in the Tennessee earned the distinction. The schools will receive a cash prize from the state, but the exact amount has not been released yet.

Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam and Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman made the announcement Monday in Brentwood.

The Reward Schools are spread across 70 districts, located in major cities as well as rural areas, and 102 of the recognized schools serve mostly economically disadvantaged populations.

Read more from: News
Tags: None

  • Rutherford County News Since 1947
  • eNews and Updates
  • Advertisement

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software