Rutherford County School Board Results

The three way race for School Board, Zone 3 went down to the wire with only 57 votes difference between the candidates. Lisa Moore won the seat with 1,547 votes to Veronica Buchanan's 1,192. Howard Jones finished just three votes behind Buchanan with 1,190. Moore will fill the seat left vacant with the passing of Helen Blankenship.

There were five candidates on the ballot in the zone 7 school board race, with retired Oakland High School teacher Jim Estes winning by 660 votes. He received 1,678 votes to former Murfreesboro City School Board member Patrick McCarthy's 1,018. Gabriel Fancher had 841 votes, Jody Bond with 678 and Paul Peavy with 259. Zone 7 was the seat of Tim Tackett, who resigned from the board last year to take the Rutherford County Athletic Director's position. Garey Eakes was the interim board member but did not seek election to the position.

Aaron Holladay ran unopposed in zone 1. Board Vice Chairman Wayne Blair defeated Eric Tuttobene. A few months ago, Tuttobene decided to back Blair even though his name was already on the ballot saying he didn't
know Blair was going to run for the office.

Read more from: News

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software